Migraine Relief: My Natural Remedy Protocol

By Tim Mount, CN, CCMH

Since a young child I’ve suffered from debilitating migraine headaches, but it wasn’t until going through natural health school in my late 20s that I had a treatment protocol that worked. In the past I’d take a few Excedrin Migraine and be in excruciating pain until I was able to fall asleep. My entire day would be ruined, and I’d have a headache hangover for a week afterwards.

Now I’m back on my feet in a matter of hours and the pain is minimized to a dull background ache at worst. My approach is a “throw everything at it and see what sticks” solution, but hey IT WORKS!

It is important to do all of this ASAP once the first signs of the migraine begin. For me, I see a fuzzy, colorful halo in my vision, which eventually blinds me temporarily in my right eye. Try and keep everything together in a bag where you can have quick, easy access.

  1. Drink two large glasses of WATER
  2. Eat a piece of CANDY or some other fast acting carbohydrate
  3. Take 2-3 full dropperfuls of FEVERFEW tincture
  4. Take 1-2 softgels of BUTTERBUR extract
  5. Take 1 l-theanine pill
  6. Dissolve a HOMEOPATHIC under my tongue
  7. Rub  MAGNESIUM OIL on the back of my neck and shoulders; or take a strong EPSOM SALT bath with 1lb of salts dissolved in the water
  8. Apply MIGRASTICK on my temples and base of my skull

Sometimes I also take an EXCEDRIN MIGRAINE if the pain is still bad, but I try to avoid it when possible.

I drink water and eat some simple carbohydrates because I believe two of my triggers are dehydration and very low blood sugar. Most times I get migraines after a hard workout. By getting some water and quickly raising my blood sugar I think it helps to reduce the intensity of the migraine considerably.

The feverfew and butterbur are natural herbal extracts that have been shown to help with bloodflow in the brain and reducing the pain of headaches. The magnesium oil and migrastick help to relax and sooth the tight muscles around the head and neck. The l-theanine gets the body out of the “fight or flight” response and allows the body to relax. It may also help if caffeine is a trigger for the migraine. The Homeopathic works on an energetic level to reduce symptoms.

There are dozens of causes of migraines, but with this protocol you can cover a lot of bases. Try it out, I hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

